Beatin’ My Feet

SPRING BREAK! TAKE YOUR TOP OFF!

I went home for spring break this year as I usually do. I am from Northern Virginia (703). Sure I was born there, but I do not belong there. Every time I return to those DC suburbs I am reminded why. No offense to all my friends and family still at home (love you guys), but NOVA is not okay.

However I was reminded of one part of the DC Metropolitan Area that I truly took for granted before moving away…. GO-GO
For those of you who are not familiar with the majesty that is Go-Go music, let me let you know.

Go-go is a subgenre of funk that originated in the Washington, D.C., area during the mid- to late-1970s. The over use of percussion in go-go music can seem annoying to many, but can create the perfect trance of a beat to keep you dancing all night. Go-Go bands often cover many top songs in pop culture or make their own lyrics by repeating chants such as “look at my phatty” or “sweat out your weave.” It’s not surprise to me that Go-Go music has not done well outside of the DMV (DC, Maryland and Virginia), but hip-hop has brought a watered down version of Go-go to the public. Songs like “1 Thing” -Amerie (a DC native), “Crazy in Love” – Beyonce feat. Jay-Z, “It’s Love” – Jill Scott have a clear Go-Go influence in their beats.

I wish more people were on my level with Go-Go, but i guess it exclusivity is what makes it special. But for those of you who know…. Imma keep beatin’ my feet.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

