M.I.A.

missy elliott

I really miss Missy. Missy has been a front runner in the female rap game since her debut in 1990. She is known for her edgy beats and provocative lyrics. But what I love most about Miss E are her music videos. Whenever Missy comes out with a single it always has some realness in the video with some crazy dance moves. Her last album, The Cookbook, dropped in 2005 and, in all honesty, it was not her best work. “Lose Control” was clearly the best song on the album and Missy faded once that single fell off the charts.

misse

Around this time last year, I had high hopes for Missy’s comeback. She had two new hot songs: “Ching-A-Ling” and “Shake Your Pom Pom,” both found on the Step Up 2: The Streets soundtrack. Then my summer anthem “Best, Best” leaked and I fell back in love with Missy. And to my delight, I heard a radio broadcast where she claimed she was shooting the “Best, Best” video the following week.

And then… silence.

Dear Missy,
Please stop messing around and doing all these “featuring Missy Elliott” things on other peoples songs. I’m ready for a new album. The rap game needs you.
I mean damn…. it’s been 4 years.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

