Ken-huh?

On a recent commute to school I picked up the always interesting am New York.  Near the back of the newspaper, right next to the Sudoku and Crossword puzzles was a new game that I have never seen before.

090220_game_kenkengrid

It goes by the name KENKEN, with a tag line: The logic puzzler that makes you smarter.

I was immediately told that KenKen is apparently the new “hot game.”  At first glace, it looks like a bootleg Sudoku with the same concept of a square containing smaller squares with numbers, but Ken Ken offers more than that.

kenken

Each row and each column must contain the number 1 through 4 (easy) or 1 thorough 6 (hard) without repeating (similar to Sudoku).  But KenKen has “cages” (bold lines) in which lie small math problems with the solution in the top right corner.  It seems like the Sudoku-Crossword hybrid.

The easy one was a breeze once George and I got the hang of it, but the hard was another story.  I don’t know why, but I find KenKen much more tolerable and much less stressful than Sudoku.  They just piss me off.

So I’m going to go with KenKen for my intellectual stimulus.  At least it promises to make me smarter! Wanna try?

One Response

  1. Wow! That does sound very interesting!!! I have never heard of KenKen. I’m actually going to inquire about it at the book store. Thank you for posting this information 😉

Leave a Reply

