I Been Buked

This has been one crazy week. Sorry I have not been able to post more, but I’ve been real busy.

822ailey05

Anywho, I went to see Ailey II of the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. I am sure some of you have heard of Alvin Ailey, but in case you haven’t here’s some history.

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater was founded in 1958 by Alvin Ailey himself along with a group of young black dancers. Since then Alvin Ailey has grown into one of the most popular black dance company in the world. Alvin Ailey himself choreographed and danced famous pieces such as Revelations , (which is a signature of the company and is still performed today) and Blues Suite. Ailey’s apprentice and muse Judith Jamison was appointed by Ailey to succeed him as Artistic Director after his death in 1989 due to complications from AIDS. Judith Jamison remains as Artistic Director and has expanded the company even further.

aileyjamison
Alvin Ailey and Judith Jamison

Ever since I was little, I have been obsessed with Alvin Ailey. The way that this company interprets the emotion and rhythm in music is indescribable. The can make the most simple motion so powerful and the most complicated choreography look ridiculously easy. One thing I love about the company is their minimalism. There are no fancy sets, no crazy costumes. Just the human body expressing itself. They take influence from all sorts of cultures and styles and present in a fresh, modern way you have to enjoy.

I am no Alvin Ailey virgin, but it was like my first time all over again. I was blown away. Personal favorite of the night was When Dawn Comes… (2007) by Christopher L. Huggins.

alvin_ailey1

If you have not seen them, you should definitely keep an eye out they next time there in town. Until then, I might entertain the idea of taking a couple classes at there 55th St. location this summer. Anyone interested?

6 Responses

  1. I love there dancing and if i was skinner i would join

  2. Who is the girl in this photo with the purple background?

  3. The poster of the girl jumping . She has wild hair and the backgroung is pink/purple.

  4. What is her name?

    • I am not sure, but I will try to find out.

  5. Thanks

Leave a Reply

