Where have all the Boy Bands gone?

Since the 1960’s, boy bands have played a major role in the music industry. Lately, however, there has not been a predominate boy band.

nsync

From the Beatles and the Temptations, to N*Sync and the Backstreet Boys, there has always been a major boy band dominating the airwaves.  Lately, I have not been seeing that.  Besides the Jonas Brothers, there are no boy bands blowing up the charts. jackson5

Correct me if I’m wrong and completely spacing on some superstar boy band, but they are M.I.A., and I don’t know why.  Is it because these groups seem to be built around certain “leads” and inevitably split, making one person a successful solo artist (i.e. Justin Timberlake, Omarion and Michael Jackson)?  Have  record companies completely given up on the idea of boy bands, or are artists today to self-centered to share the spotlight?

new+edition+2

Personally, I think boy bands are brilliant.  Sure I don’t love them all, but the formula is excellent.  A group of boys/men with different personalities and looks to appeal to a larger group of girls/women/gays.  Plus, one of my favorite things, choreography.  What’s not to love?  So boy bands, step your game up.  I think the music industry is ready for another blockbuster boy band. newkids

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

