Let’s try somethign NEW!

Recently, I have been overwhelmed with the amount of remakes I have seen happening.  Everyone is trying to re-invent things that have already happened.  I am not talking about fashion (because fashion is all about re-inventing what has already been done), but I am talking about the entertainment industry.

10 Things I Hate About You Original

There are two examples that really stand out to me.  The first one was one of those “sneak peeks” in the movie theaters before the previews.  I was sitting there watching this new series about tangled teenagers in the suburbs and realized the blot looked very familiar.  Then they dropped the bomb.  “Based on the movie 10 Things I Hate About You.”  Yes, there is a new show based on 10 Things I Hate About You, called 10 Things I Hate About You on ABC Family.  The original is a classic.  This looks horrible.  I was embarrassed watching it in the theater.

10 Things I Hate About You ABC Family

At this point, this has been done.  10 Things I Hate About You is based on the play The Taming of the Shrew written by William Shakespeare.  It has been done over and over.  It is the bases for both the musical and the movie Kiss Me Kate.  And now ABC Family is making a show, which is based off a movie, which is based off a play.  Sure you are introducing the story to a new generation, but come on.  Let’s spice it up.

the_color_purple1

Example number two is a little closer to my heart.  Fantasia will be returning to her role as Miss Celie in the musical The Color Purple in select cities on the National tour as well as the film version of the musical.  Just the like Broadway show, the new movie will be produced by Oprah Winfrey.  Oprah starred in the original film The Color Purple, which got her an Oscar nomination.

the-color-purple

The original film The Color Purple is phenomenal.  It was direct by Steven Spielberg and had a great cast, which won it 11 Oscar Nominations.  I have also seen the musical twice and Ms. Winfrey did an excellent job of converting this depressing movie into a Tony Award winning musical full of life and emotion.  But before it was musical, it was a novel written by Alice Walker.  So, once again, we have a novel, turned into a movie, turned into a Broadway musical, turned into a movie musical.

73851135BB004_Fantasia_Join

It may sound like I am hating hard, but I’m just stating facts.  You know I will be one of the first to see The Color Purple reinvented on the screen.  I am just sayin’ I want something new.  I want some fresh ideas brought to the screen.  Some original screenplays that are original.  Let’s get creative.

One Response

  1. Amen to that!

Leave a Reply

