Away I went.

Over a week ago, on a nice lazy Sunday, I saw Away We Go. Here’s my review:

away_we_go

So much has been happening lately, that I kind of forgot about this film. Recent commercials have reminded me of moving and funny this movie is. When I usually watch commerical for movies and I see the quotes from ‘critics,’ I ask myself, “Who said that?” But these are dead on:

“A marriage made in comedy heaven” – The New York Times

“…sneaks up and floors you” – Rolling Stone

awaywegopic7

The movie was filled with cameos as the couple travels across the country to find the perfect location to raise their child.  My favorite cameo was Maggie Gyllenhaal.  She was hilarious and completely convincing as a radical hippie mother.  Every time I see her, I grow to like her more as an actress.

large_Away-We-Go-review

Maya Rudolph and John Krasinski are fantastic together. Both very fun, quirky and sexy.  Maya Rudolph was hilarious on SNL and I still quote her skits to this day. I am happy to see her working again, and doing something completely different.  John Krasinski was excellent. His character was very different from “Jim,” his character on The Office which has made him famous.  He was adorable, and I might have fallen a little bit in love with him.

arts-away-we-go-584

Sam Mendez did a fantastic job with directing.  This is a change of pace for him but he nailed it.  I am a big fan of his work (and his wife Kate Winslet). The film is silently stunning. It is very laid back yet emotionally draining. I went with my friends Adrienne and Courtney and once we left the theater, there was nothing to say. It reminds me of a less comedic Juno. It takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotion.

away-we-go-production-still-upcoming-movies-5781403-535-357

Overall, Away We Go was a great film.  It was slow paced, but fun.  I had no expectations going into it and I came out very pleased.  I would recommend this movie, if a cute, quirky romantic comedy is your thing, go for it.  Away We Go is now playing in select theaters.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

