Not that Funny.

Tonight I saw Funny People and here’s my review:

Warning: Spoilers

funny-people-poster
I didn’t hate it, but I definitely did not like it.  True, it was nothing like I thought it would be, but at the same time I left disappointed.  I am a huge Judd Apatow and Seth Rogen fan.  I haven’t seen all of their films, but 90% of them I love.  They usually hit the nail on the head for me.  I am a Adam Sandler fan, especially of his work in the 90’s.  Lately he hasn’t been rocking my boat, but regardless, I was so excited for this movie.

funnypeoplw1(1)

It did nothing for me.  There were some parts were I laughed, but the awkward, depressing gaps in the between those few moments left a stronger impact.  For the first half of the movie, famous comedian and film star George Simmons, played by Sandler (who is literally him playing himself), is diagnosed with a type of leukemia and basically given a 8% survival rate.  He picks up the struggling young Ira, played by Rogen, as his assistant/writer/bff.  He then leads a miserable, shallow life parallel to a grandpa making wise cracks younger people.  Sure there are some funny one-liners but in the end, you just feel bad for him and not in a funny way.

funny-people-20090721051217620_640w

The second half of the movie did not really get better.  Simmons realizes that he has wasted his life and tries to compensate by ruining the marriage of the woman he loved and cheated on as Ira stands by helpless to stop it.  The plot became anti-climatic and I began to lose all compassion for the characters.  It is not that the movie was uncomfortable or awkward, but it was just sad.

funny_people_1

All of the characters were well done and individually had shinning moments.  The scene stealer’s were Jonah Hill who was hilarious and Aziz Ansari as RAAAAAAAANDY.  Hill never fails me, and Ansari is my new obsession.  Eric Bana was a great change of pace and delivered.  But all of these characters had such little screen time that I was left wanting more.

funny_people13

Seeing so many Apatow movies, you begin to see a deja vu.  I was getting flash backs to Knocked Up, also by Apatow, as I watched Seth Rogen play in a suburban southern California playground with Apatow’s daughters once again.

funny-people-20090406050239247_640w

Overall, I would not recommend this movie.  It was not what I thought it would be or what I wanted.  If you really want to see it, watch it on-line.  Don’t waste your money.  It reminded me of that part in those typical funny movies where the main characters argue or fight and you awkwardly laugh cause you feel like you should, but nothing really funny is happening.  Maybe I need to see it again, but at this point, I don’t really want to.

footnote:  Courtney and Austen liked it so you might feel differently.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

