Man-eating Machine

gracehammerstein

As many of you know, I am obsessed with Grace Jones.  As far as her look, she is basically my muse.  She is so androgynous and powerful and practically invented the term fashion forward.  Her look in the 1970’s was so forward, we still have not reached her level.

Grace Jones Hammerstein

I have wanted to write a post about Ms. Jones for quite a while now, but I just did not know what to say.  But her performance on July 30th at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City pushed me to write.  I really wanted to go, but it was not a good night for me (moving apartments and all).  But looking at videos and pictures from the night make me want to end it all.

In case you did not know, she is back.  Grace Jones stopped in New York City during the USA leg of her Hurricane Tour.  In addition to NYC, see performed on the West Coast at the Hollywood Bowl.  She was amazing.  At age 61, she is still bringing fire.  Her shows are always a production that cannot be matched.  I would have died to be there.  She change outfits for literally EVERY SONG in the show.  It really cannot get better for me.

This summer, I have been wearing the Patricia Field Grace Jones button, and it is amazing to hear peoples opinions of her.  I have heard she is “crazy” or a “one-hit wonder.”  But she is more than all that.  She is on another level.  Her music video for her first single of her latest album Hurricane entitled ‘Corporate Cannibal’ haunts me to this day.  It is genius and my favorite music video of all time.  I cannot get enough of her.

I could keep going on and on about this woman, but I will stop so someone will read this.  I hope she goes on tour again, so I can see her in concert.  I might freak out.

footnote:  I posted mostly videos, because the costumes are so unbelievable, you need to see them in action.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

