Thank you McQueen. Thank you.

Fashion week just ended around the world and I must say.  This year was good, but it was not enough for me.  Although I saw a lot of things I liked, nothing really rocked my world or set major tend to follow.  Until…

Alexander McQueen’s Spring 2010 Ready-to-Wear Collection

AlexanderMcQueenSpring2010

As a fashion designer, I usually go straight to the clothes first.  But the main resason i loved the McQueen show, was not the clothing at all but the show.

lynn_flyingmonkeys_04

article-0-06BB0748000005DC-306_634x476

The show was entitled Pluto’s Atlantis. Mcqueen put on an amazing show that I could only describe as a modern fantasy. Everything I read about the show makes me love it more and more.  Lynn Yaeger on the  Full Frontal Fashion Blog said:

What’s next?  Flying Monkeys?
Well, almost — not monkeys, actually, but snakes with something naughty on their minds. They are crawling all over a nude Raquel Zimmermann and she’s writhing in ecstasy on the giant video screen Alexander McQueen has mounted as part of his spare-no-expense (what recession?) extravaganza entitled “Plato’s Atlantis” at the Salle Marcel Cerdan on the Boulevard de Bercy, a venue so difficult to get to in a car (I scammed a ride) that it might as well be Atlantis.

From the plastered stage make-up of the models, to the extremely detailed braided hair, to the press on nails, Mcqueen put on a show.  The models must have been there all day.
00800m

01060m

01110m

01150m
01490m

But what has really made Mcqueen’s show stay with me for the past couple days are the 10 inch heels these women wore.  They haunt me.  I love them, I think they are so simple yet something I have never seen of.  I think they are genius.  Check them out.

00040m

00070m00730m
01340m

I found this show inspiring.  It completely ignores the economic crisis and take us to a world of fantasy.  Thank you Alexander McQueen for the great show. CLICK HERE to watch the video yourself.

lynn_flyingmonkeys_03

3 Responses

  1. Those shoes are insane!! I don’t know how I feel about those :p

  2. holy shit those shoes are crazy. i love anything that recreates and pushes the limits to the standard form. i especially enjoy the nude ones that are jeweled.

  3. This is a beautiful post! It makes me miss him even more:(!

Leave a Reply

