The Story of Avatar

Warning:  Mild Spoilers

With the Academy awards upon us, and the phenomenon that is James Cameron’s Avatar, I have been hearing a lot of talk about it.  No one is debating Avatar’s beauty or the ‘RealD’ special effects, but everyone is coming after the story.  My question is why.

Yes, the story is the nothing new, but it didn’t claim to be.  It is a great version of a story that is frequently retold in our history; an updated version of the Colonist vs. the Native Americans.  It is powerful and relevant.  I loved it for what is was.

It seems to me that people are looking for something to hate on, and that’s fine.  I get it.  But please don’t disrespect.  Regardless of the plot, Avatar has changed the way movies will be made.  It deserves all the attention its getting.

Now the question is, will Avatar take home the Best Picture statue on March 7th.  I don’t know.  I honestly don’t think it was the ‘best picture’ of the year, but I don’t know what will beat it.  The Hurt Locker (directed by Cameron’s ex-wife Kathryn Bigelow) is rumored to a top contender, however giving The Hurt Locker the night’s top award would be going against the Academy’s new 10 nominee policy.  The main purpose of 10 nominees are to get more popular films honored by the Academy.  In a popularity contest, no one can touch Avatar.

Will Avatar sweep the Oscars, or is the Academy over giving the crown to the most popular girl in school?  We’ll see on March 7th.

footnote:  If you haven’t seen Avatar yet, ONLY see it in 3D.  Don’t play yourself.

3 Responses

  1. the hurt locker just blow my mind i think is awesome, avatar was so disapointing!

    • I loved The Hurt Locker. So well done. I also loved Avatar. So pretty. I’m sorry you didn’t like it.

  2. I agree with you about Avatar. A lot of people are looking for something to hate about the movie, and they need to stop looking at it for its story line. It was a simple classic story line, and a complete aesthetically pleasing movie. I thought it was so incredibly beautiful and deserves every bit of positive attention it is getting.

    I have yet to see The Hurt Locker but Nicole said she disliked it and didn’t understand the hype.

    I am also doing so poorly this year for the upcoming Oscars. I disappoint myself.

Leave a Reply

